FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Deutsche Bank's history

When and where was Deutsche Bank founded?

Deutsche Bank's articles of incorporation were approved by the King of Prussia on 10 March 1870. This date is generally regarded as the one on which it was officially founded. The Bank, which had the legal form of a stock corporation, opened for business on 9 April 1870. Its first premises were located at Französische Strasse 21 in Berlin.

Who founded Deutsche Bank?

The initial idea to set up the Bank was floated by Adelbert Delbrück, a private banker, and Ludwig Bamberger, a politician and currency expert. The 76 subscribers who provided the Bank's initial share capital of five million talers (15 million marks) included leading German private bankers. 

   

Why the name 'Deutsche Bank'?

Deutsche Bank's founders saw its main purpose as being to finance Germany's foreign trade. Up to that point, this function had largely been performed by British and French banks. The name 'Deutsche Bank' was intended to signify that there was now a German bank willing to take on this role.

Who have been the Spokesmen of Deutsche Bank's Management Board?

Georg von Siemens 1870-1900
Rudolph von Koch, 1901-1909
Arthur von Gwinner, 1910-1919
Paul Mankiewitz, 1919-1923
Oscar Wassermann, 1923-1933
Georg Solmssen, 1933
Eduard Mosler, 1934-1939
Karl Kimmich, 1939-1942
Oswald Rösler, 1942-1945
Hermann J. Abs, 1957-1967
Karl Klasen, 1967-1969
Franz Heinrich Ulrich, 1967-1976
Wilfried Guth, 1976-1985
F. Wilhelm Christians, 1976-1988
Alfred Herrhausen, 1985-1989
Hilmar Kopper, 1989-1997
Rolf-E. Breuer, 1997-2002
Josef Ackermann 2002-2012 (2006-2012 Chairman of the Management Board)
Jürgen Fitschen and Anshu Jain since June 2012 (Co-Chairmen of the Management Board)

(Deutsche Bank had two Spokesmen from 1967 to 1969 and from 1976 to 1988)

Deutsche Bank has two Co-Chairmen since June 2012


 

Where did Deutsche Bank locate its first branches?

Deutsche Bank opened its first domestic branch in Bremen in 1871, followed by Hamburg in 1872 and Frankfurt am Main in 1886.
Its first branches outside Germany were opened in Shanghai and Yokohama in 1872 and in London in 1873. 

 

What is the origin of Deutsche Bank's logo?

The current logo was introduced in 1974. The Bank chose this famous symbol - a forward slash inside a square - from the 140 proposals submitted. It was designed by Anton Stankowski, a graphic designer. Prior to this date, Deutsche Bank had used various logos, typefaces and symbols.

 

When were Deutsche's shares first listed on the leading stock exchanges?

Its shares have been listed on the Berlin stock exchange ever since the Bank was founded in 1870. Further listings were in Frankfurt am Main in 1880, Paris in 1974, London in 1976, Brussels in 1978, Tokyo in 1989 and New York in 2001. 


 

Since when has Deutsche Bank been headquartered in Frankfurt am Main?

The registered office of Deutsche Bank AG was located in Frankfurt am Main on 2 May 1957. At the time, there were further head offices with large back-office departments in Hamburg and Düsseldorf. Today the Bank's only head office is located in Frankfurt. From 1870 to 1945 the Bank's head office was located in Berlin. Between 1947/48 and early 1957 Deutsche was split into several regional banks as a consequence of the Second World War and was not allowed to operate under its old name.

Since when has Deutsche Bank maintained a presence in the US?

Its first investment in an American financial institution was the limited partnership it acquired in Knoblauch & Lichtenstein, a New York bank, in 1872. One of Deutsche's major international projects from the 1880s onwards was to help finance the construction of the US railways. Plans to open a branch of its own in America were thwarted by the First World War. Deutsche Bank did not operate under its own name in the US until it opened a branch in New York in 1979. In 1999 it bought Bankers Trust, a New York-based investment bank.

 

 

How long have women been working at Deutsche Bank?

After 1900 the Bank started to employ women as telephonists and shorthand typists (it had employed female cleaning and canteen staff ever since it was founded). According to the records, it employed its first ever female 'bank officer' - meaning a woman who had completed a banking or commercial traineeship - in 1913. The number of female employees rose sharply during the First World War. In 1988, Ellen R. Schneider-Lenné became the first woman to be appointed as an executive director at Deutsche Bank (or any other major German bank, for that matter).  

What have been Deutsche Bank's most important acquisitions?

Deutsche Bank started to buy other major banks as early as 1876. It substantially expanded its presence in Germany by integrating Bergisch Märkische Bank (1914) and Schlesischer Bankverein (1917) and their respective branch networks. The merger of Deutsche Bank and Disconto-Gesellschaft in October 1929 was the largest merger to date in the German banking industry. It was around this time that Deutsche also acquired illustrious institutions such as Norddeutsche Bank (Hamburg) and A. Schaaffhausen'scher Bankverein (Cologne). It was not until it bought banks in Italy (Banca d'America e d'Italia) and Spain (Banco Comercial Transatlántico) in the 1980s that Deutsche Bank established its own branch networks abroad. In 1989 it acquired Morgan Grenfell, a blue-blooded UK merchant bank. Its 1999 takeover of the New York-based investment bank Bankers Trust was the largest-ever acquisition by a German bank in the US financial market.

Footer Navigation:
Last Update: 13.6.2012
Copyright © 2014 Historische Gesellschaft der Deutschen Bank e.V.

FAQ

Hier finden Sie Antworten zu den am häufigsten gestellten Fragen zur Geschichte der Deutschen Bank.

Wann und wo wurde die Deutsche Bank gegründet?

Am 10. März 1870 wurde das Gründungsstatut der Deutschen Bank durch den preußischen König genehmigt. Dieses Datum gilt als Gründungstag der Deutschen Bank. Ihre Geschäftstätigkeit nahm die in der Rechtsform einer Aktiengesellschaft errichtete Deutsche Bank am 9. April 1870 in Berlin auf. Die ersten Geschäftsräume befanden sich in der Französischen Straße 21.

Wer gründete die Deutsche Bank?

Die Initiatoren der Gründung waren der Privatbankier Adelbert Delbrück und der Politiker und Währungsexperte Ludwig Bamberger. Unter den 76 Erstzeichnern, die das Grundkapital von 5 Millionen Talern (15 Millionen Mark) bereitstellen, befanden sich führende deutsche Privatbankiers.

   

Warum der Name „Deutsche Bank“?

Die Hauptaufgabe der Deutschen Bank sollte nach dem Willen ihrer Gründer die Finanzierung des deutschen Außenhandels sein. Bislang waren hier vor allem englische und französische Geldhäuser tätig.

Der Name "Deutsche Bank" hatte daher Signalwirkung: Für diese Aufgabe stand nun auch eine "deutsche" Bank bereit.


 

Wer waren die Vorstandssprecher der Deutschen Bank?

Georg von Siemens 1870-1900
Rudolph von Koch 1901-1909
Arthur von Gwinner 1910-1919
Paul Mankiewitz 1919-1923
Oscar Wassermann 1923-1933             
Georg Solmssen 1933
Eduard Mosler 1934-1939
Karl Kimmich 1939-1942
Oswald Rösler 1942-1945
Hermann J. Abs 1957-1967
Karl Klasen 1967-1969
Franz Heinrich Ulrich 1967-1976
Wilfried Guth 1976-1985
F. Wilhelm Christians 1976-1988
Alfred Herrhausen 1985-1989
Hilmar Kopper 1989-1997
Rolf-E. Breuer 1997-2002
Josef Ackermann 2002 - 2012 (2006 - 2012 Vorstandsvorsitzender)
Anshu Jain und Jürgen Fitschen seit Juni 2012 (Vorstandsvorsitzende)

 

von 1967 bis 1969 und von 1976 bis 1988 hatte die Deutsche Bank zwei Vorstandssprecher
seit Juni 2012 hat die Deutsche Bank zwei Vorstandsvorsitzende


 

Wo errichtete die Deutsche Bank ihre ersten Filialen?

Ihre erste Inlandsfiliale eröffnete die Deutsche Bank 1871 in Bremen, gefolgt von Hamburg 1872 und Frankfurt am Main 1886.
Die ersten Auslandsniederlassungen der Deutschen Bank wurden 1872 in Shanghai und Yokohama und 1873 in London errichtet.

 

Woher kommt das Logo der Deutschen Bank?

Das heutige Logo wurde im Jahre 1974 eingeführt. Den berühmten "Schrägstrich im Quadrat" wählte die Deutsche Bank aus 140 Entwürfen aus. Gestaltet hat ihn der Graphikdesigner Anton Stankowski.

Davor existierten in der Deutschen Bank mehrere Firmenzeichen (Schrift- und Symbolzeichen). Ende 1973 wurde das neue Logo den Mitarbeitern und im April 1974 der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Ab letzterem Termin wurde es auf offiziellen Schreiben der Bank und in der Werbung verwendet.

 

Wann wurde die Deutsche Bank-Aktie an wichtigen Börsenplätzen notiert?

An der Berliner Börse war die Deutsche Bank-Aktie seit ihrer Gründung 1870 notiert. Weitere Erstnotierungen: Frankfurt am Main 1880, Paris 1974, London 1976, Brüssel 1978, Tokio 1989, New York 2001.


 

Seit wann befindet sich der Sitz der Deutschen Bank in Frankfurt am Main?

Am 2. Mai 1957 wurde Frankfurt am Main Sitz der Deutsche Bank AG. Weitere Standorte mit Stabsabteilungen waren zu dieser Zeit auch noch Hamburg und Düsseldorf.  Heute ist Frankfurt alleiniger Unternehmenssitz. Von 1870  bis 1945 befand sich die Zentrale der Deutschen Bank in Berlin. Von 1947/48 bis Anfang 1957 war die Deutsche Bank als Folge des Zweiten Weltkrieges in regional begrenzte Banken aufgeteilt und durfte nicht unter ihrem alten Namen auftreten.

 

Seit wann ist die Deutsche Bank in den USA vertreten?

Eine Kommanditbeteilung bei dem New Yorker Bankhaus Knoblauch & Lichtenstein im Jahre 1872 kennzeichnet das früheste Engagement bei einem amerikanischen Bankhaus. Die Finanzierung des amerikanischen Eisenbahnbaus gehörte seit den 1880er Jahren zu den großen Auslandsengagements der Deutschen Bank. Pläne zur Errichtung einer eigenen Filiale verhinderte der Erste Weltkrieg. Mit der Eröffnung der Filiale New York im Jahre 1979 beginnt die Präsenz der Deutschen Bank in den USA unter eigenem Namen. 1999 übernahm die Deutsche Bank die New Yorker Investmentbank Bankers Trust.

 

 

Seit wann arbeiten Frauen in der Deutschen Bank?

In den Jahren nach 1900 wurden erstmals weibliche Mitarbeiter als Telefonistinnen und Stenotypistinnen eingestellt (weibliches Reinigungs- und Kantinenpersonal hatte die Bank bereits seit ihren Anfängen beschäftigt). Die erste "Beamtin", d.h. eine Mitarbeiterin die eine Banklehre, bzw. kaufmännische Ausbildung durchlaufen hatte, ist für das Jahr 1913 nachgewiesen. Während des Ersten Weltkriegs stieg die Zahl der weiblichen Mitarbeiter stark an. 1988 trat mit Ellen R. Schneider-Lenné die erste Frau in den Vorstand der Deutschen Bank (und einer deutschen Großbank überhaupt) ein.  

Welches waren die wichtigsten Übernahmen in der Geschichte der Deutschen Bank?

Schon 1876 übernahm die Deutsche Bank erstmals größere Bankhäuser. Mit der Eingliederung der Bergisch Märkischen Bank (1914) und des Schlesischen Bankvereins (1917) und deren Filialnetze gewann die Deutsche Bank deutlich Präsenz in der Fläche. Die Verschmelzung der Deutschen Bank mit der Disconto-Gesellschaft im Oktober 1929 war die bis dahin größte Fusion der deutschen Bankgeschichte. Damals gingen auch traditionsreiche Häuser wie die Norddeutsche Bank in Hamburg und der A. Schaaffhausen'sche Bankverein in Köln in der Deutschen Bank auf. Mit der Übernahme von Banken in Italien (Banca d'America e d'Italia) und Spanien (Banco Comercial Transatlántico) in den 1980er Jahren verfügte die Deutsche Bank im Ausland erstmals über eigene Filialnetze. 1989 wurde die traditionsreiche britische Merchant Bank Morgan Grenfell erworben. 1999 übernahm die Deutsche Bank die New Yorker Investmentbank Bankers Trust. Dies war der bislang größte Einstieg eines deutschen Kreditinstituts auf dem US-Finanzmarkt. Nach der Jahrtausendwende übernahm die Deutsche Bank im Inland die Berliner Bank, die Norisbank, das Bankhaus Sal. Oppenheim und die Postbank.

 

Footer Navigation:
Letzte Änderung: 5.11.2014
Copyright © 2014 Historische Gesellschaft der Deutschen Bank e.V.