Employee Figures

Developments in employee figures from 1870 to the present day

As regards the bank’s initial years, the figures we have are nothing more than estimates, but we do know that in the founding year (1870) Deutsche Bank only employed a few dozen staff. Exact employee figures were released for the very first time in 1894: 1,072 staff members, all of them men, worked for Deutsche Bank at the time, in Berlin and the five other branches across Germany. The establishment of additional branches as well as the first takeovers of larger credit institutions (Bergisch Märkische Bank in 1914, Schlesischer Bankverein and Norddeutsche Creditanstalt in 1917) took the number of employees up to around 13,000 by the end of the First World War. Owing to the vast amount of work during the period of hyperinflation in Germany, the number of staff members rocketed and reached its peak of 37,000 employees in November 1923, which then recoiled substantially over the subsequent years.
The major merger of Deutsche Bank and Disconto-Gesellschaft in 1929, which also led to the absorption of a series of other banks into the unified institute, took the number of employees back up to 20,000. Following a temporary slump during the financial crisis of 1931, this remained at a steady level until the Second World War. As of 1942, there are no more overviews of employee figures available. The same applies to the immediate post-War period, when in the Western zones Deutsche Bank was temporarily divided up into ten subordinate banks. In the Soviet-occupied zone Deutsche Bank’s activities were ended for the time being; many of the staff from the branches there were taken on by banks administered by the East German state. In 1953 Deutsche Bank resumed its documentation of precise employee figures (14,801), although it was divided into the Norddeutsche Bank, Rheinisch-Westfälische Bank and Süddeutsche Bank at the time.
When Deutsche Bank was reestablished as a unified institute in 1957, it employed just under 17,000 staff members. The increasingly comprehensive presence of branches across the country following Deutsche Bank’s entry into the retail banking business led to a continuous increase in staffing levels over the subsequent years. As a consequence of the establishment of several subsidiaries, from the mid-1960s onwards separate sets of figures were released for the “core bank” and Deutsche Bank Group; Group figures have played an instrumental role ever since. In the 1980s, Deutsche Bank’s expanding international presence was also reflected in employee figures (e.g., thanks to the takeover of Banca d’America e d’Italia in 1986).
At home, the start of business with the former East German states in 1990 and the consequent addition of 140 branches led to yet another sharp increase in staff numbers; a trend which continued for another few years. In the 1990s it was above all the bank’s new global orientation that caused employee figures to rise once again.
Deutsche Bank also recorded a significant rise in staffing levels following the integration of Bankers Trust (1999) and Postbank (2010).  

Footer Navigation:
Last Update: 29.6.2012
Copyright © 2018 Historische Gesellschaft der Deutschen Bank e.V.

Mitarbeiterzahlen

Die Entwicklung der Mitarbeiterzahlen von 1870 bis heute

Für die ersten Jahrzehnte liegen lediglich Schätzungen vor, doch standen im Gründungsjahr 1870 bei der Deutschen Bank wohl nur wenige Dutzend Mitarbeiter in Lohn und Brot. 1894 wurden erstmals genaue Mitarbeiterzahlen veröffentlicht: 1.072 Personen, noch ausschließlich Männer, arbeiteten damals für die Deutsche Bank in Berlin und in den fünf Filialen. Weitere Niederlassungsgründungen sowie erste Übernahmen größerer Kreditinstitute (Bergisch Märkische Bank 1914, Schlesischer Bankverein und Norddeutsche Creditanstalt 1917) ließen die Zahl der Mitarbeiter bis zum Ende des Ersten Weltkrieges auf etwa 13.000 ansteigen. Wegen des gewaltigen Arbeitsanfalls während der Hyperinflation in Deutschland explodierte der Personalstand und erreichte im November 1923 mit 37.000 Beschäftigten seinen Höchststand, der jedoch in den Folgejahren weitgehend wieder abgebaut wurde.

Die große Fusion mit der Disconto-Gesellschaft im Jahre 1929, in deren Folge auch eine Reihe weiterer Banken in dem vereinigten Institut aufgingen, ließ die Mitarbeiterzahl wiederum auf über 20.000 anwachsen. Nach einem vorübergehenden Einbruch aufgrund der Bankenkrise von 1931 war dies in etwa das Niveau bis zum Zweiten Weltkrieg. Ab 1942 liegen keine Gesamtübersichten zu Beschäftigtenzahlen mehr vor. Dies gilt ebenso für die erste Phase der Nachkriegszeit, als die Deutsche Bank in den Westzonen vorübergehend in zehn Teilinstitute aufgespalten war. In der sowjetischen Besatzungszone endete einstweilen die Geschäftstätigkeit der Deutschen Bank, viele Mitarbeiter der dortigen Filialen wurden in die staatlichen Banken der DDR übernommen. Erst für das Jahr 1953, noch war die Deutsche Bank in die Norddeutsche Bank, die Rheinisch-Westfälische Bank und die Süddeutsche Bank aufgeteilt, liegen wieder genaue Zahlen vor (14.081).

Als die Deutsche Bank 1957 als einheitliches Institut wiedererrichtet wurde beschäftigte sie knapp 17.000 Mitarbeiter. Die zunehmend flächendeckende Niederlassungs-Präsenz nach dem Einstieg der Deutschen Bank ins breite Privatkundengeschäft führte in den kommenden Jahren zu einem stetigen Anstieg der Mitarbeiterzahlen. Als Folge der Gründung zahlreicher Tochtergesellschaften wurden ab Mitte der 1960er Jahre erstmals getrennte Zahlen für die "Kernbank" und den Konzern Deutsche Bank vorgelegt; maßgeblich sind seitdem die Konzernzahlen. In den 1980er Jahren schlug sich die zunehmende Auslandspräsenz der Deutschen Bank in den Mitarbeiterzahlen nieder (z. B. durch Übernahme der Banca d'America e d'Italia 1986).

Im Inland bewirkte 1990 der Geschäftsbeginn in den Neuen Bundesländern mit 140 Niederlassungen nochmals einen steilen Mitarbeiteranstieg, der sich noch einige Jahre fortsetzte. Seitdem ging der Mitarbeiterstand innerhalb Deutschlands zurück. In den 1990er Jahren hat vor allem die globale Ausrichtung der Deutschen Bank die Zahl der Beschäftigten weiter ansteigen lassen.

Einen bedeutenden Anstieg der Mitarbeiterzahlen verzeichnete die Deutsche Bank durch die Integration von Bankers Trust (1999) und der Postbank (2010).

Footer Navigation:
Letzte Änderung: 11.5.2012
Copyright © 2018 Historische Gesellschaft der Deutschen Bank e.V.