Annual Reports of Deutsche Bank

Founded as an a joint-stock company, Deutsche Bank has been obliged to publish its trading results in printed form from the very beginning, though the scope of said reports was rather limited in earlier years. The annual report from the bank’s founding year 1870 is just five pages long. From 1874 onwards, economic observations were prefixed to the actual report. In this way, even at this early point, the bank’s development was observed in relation to the times.
The merger of Deutsche Bank and Disconto-Gesellschaft in 1929 certainly constituted the greatest organizational turning point in the history of the “old” Deutsche Bank Berlin up to that point. It was a development which was of course reflected in the annual reports of the now unified institution, too – in statements on individual branches, personnel changes in leading positions and major commitments, for example.
There are no Deutsche Bank annual reports for the years between 1945 and 1951. The headquarters in Berlin were closed at the end of the Second World War and in the Western zones an Allied directive prescribed the opening of several regional subordinate banks; however these subordinate banks did not publish their own annual reports.



In 1952, the inactive Deutsche Bank Berlin (Altbank) was hived down into three successor institutions, which then functioned as joint-stock companies: Norddeutsche Bank, Rheinisch-Westfälische Bank and Süddeutsche Bank, all of which published individual annual reports over the subsequent years. As of 1955 these would be published as Group reports. In 1957, Deutsche Bank AG was founded from these three banks as a new unified corporation. Until 1968 few changes were made to the external appearance of the annual report.
As of 1969, illustrations were included in the document, which had previously been nothing more than text and numbers. Between 1980 and 1995, motifs from the Deutsche Bank Art Collection decorated the cover of the bank’s annual reports and since 2000 the reports have been available online, accessible via the Deutsche Bank Group Website.

 

 

 

Footer Navigation:
Last Update: 11.9.2012
Copyright © 2014 Historische Gesellschaft der Deutschen Bank e.V.

Geschäftsberichte der Deutschen Bank

In der Rechtsform einer Aktiengesellschaft gegründet, war die Deutsche Bank von Anfang an verpflichtet, ihr Geschäftsergebnis in gedruckter Form der Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren. Der Umfang war in den frühen Jahren bescheiden. Ganze fünf Seiten umfasst der Bericht für das erste Geschäftsjahr 1870.  Ab 1874 sind dem eigentlichen Bericht volkswirtschaftliche Betrachtungen vorangestellt. Die Entwicklung der Bank wurde also schon früh im Zusammenhang mit den allgemeinen Zeitläuften betrachtet.

Das Zusammengehen der Deutschen Bank mit der Disconto-Gesellschaft im Jahre 1929 bedeutete in dem Dreivierteljahrhundert der "alten" Deutschen Bank Berlin sicherlich den größten organisatorischen Einschnitt, der sich natürlich auch in den Geschäftsberichten des nun vereinigten Instituts widerspiegelte - etwa in den Angaben über die Niederlassungen, den personellen Veränderungen in den Leitungsfunktionen, den großen Engagements.

Für die Jahre 1945 bis 1951 existieren keine Geschäftsberichte der Deutschen Bank. Die Zentrale in Berlin wurde nach Kriegsende geschlossen, in den Westzonen entstanden auf Anordnung der Alliierten regionale Teilinstitute, die jedoch keine Geschäftsberichte veröffentlichten.

1952 wurden aus der ruhenden Deutschen Bank Berlin (Altbank) drei Nachfolgeinstitute als Aktiengesellschaften ausgegründet: Norddeutsche Bank, Rheinisch-Westfälische Bank und Süddeutsche Bank, die in den kommenden drei Jahren jeweils einzelne, ab 1955 Gruppenberichte publizierten. 1957 wurde aus diesen drei Banken die Deutsche Bank AG als einheitliches Institut neu gegründet. Bis 1968 veränderte sich die äußere Gestaltung des Geschäftsberichts kaum.

Ab 1969 hielten Abbildungen Einzug in das bis dahin reine Text- und Zahlenwerk. Von 1980 bis 1995 zierten Motive aus der Kunstsammlung der Deutschen Bank den Titel der Geschäftsberichte. Geschäftsberichte ab 2000 sind auf der Group Homepage der Deutschen Bank hinterlegt.

 

Footer Navigation:
Letzte Änderung: 24.5.2012
Copyright © 2014 Historische Gesellschaft der Deutschen Bank e.V.